Sense of Purpose

Woah. Prettttty big title. Feeling a sense of purpose. Recently I’ve been struggling with what that really means. If you know me, you know that I quit a camp job working with Special Needs at a camp known all over Michigan and Indiana. I then applied for a job as a Health Officer (nurse) at a camp that works with racial reconciliation.

Why did I choose one over the other?

I feel like a jerk the more and more that I think about it. SpringHill is known for an impeccable reputation of bringing a week of fun and full of Christ centered activities. I hear over and over again that it’s a great camp. It’s also over $600 dollars for a kid to attend camp. Here’s the jerky part…I almost feel like it’s paying for a child’s salvation. woowwww I’m a jerk and deserve a slap in the face. I went to camps like this as a child. I know that everytime I went I was convicted and wanted to change my ways. That’s what camp does. I also wouldn’t be the person I am without those camps but the people that really changed me were family and close friends that challenged me. Camp secludes you from your real life and let’s you take a good look at who you’ve become. As a child, you are developing and figuring out many things like your parents aren’t perfect or your friends don’t care about Christ as much as you thought. Anyway…camp becomes a time for self-reflection and very few can leave without feeling challenged. Now back to $600 dollars being a pretty large sum..

Camp tall turf…I don’t know much yet about it. I know that I’m going to be tackling greater issues than just…Jesus loves me right? Most of these children are from Grand Rapids and we bus them out to the middle of nowhere. Some of them have never seen woods before. Woods! That is where I loved to play as a child. I know I was blessed. I wish the same blessings on these children. I hope to share joy, laughter and love with them. This camp is also on a sliding scale…it can be $20 for the lower income families and their child gets a full week of camp!

I choose this job because I felt a sense of purpose and felt this was where God was calling me. When obeying God, you expect challenges but I did not expect it to come from my family. Changing positions made it extremely difficult for me to go on our family vacation. I don’t think they understand how important this is to me. I find it completely surprising but I also have never missed a family vacation. I do not want vacation to come before my calling as a Christ follower. I can sacrifice this one experience to give these kids an experience of a lifetime.

I hope to update on some of my experiences at camp as I move forward in becoming the health officer.

Leave a Reply

